My first fantasy layout!

I have been wanting to do “something fairy” with this photo of my DD for a very long time. But whatever I tried just did not look right. That is until I purchased the August issue of Artisan! It is full to the BRIM with fabulous layout ideas and tutorials. There are some very talented people at the Artisan Guild. I just had to join, and I am learning so much already! I am not one that normally reads Ezines or even Scrapbook Magazines, but Artisan is well worth the investment!

SOOOO what do you think of MY FIRST FANTASY LAYOUT?

Everything I used in this layouts was made by various contestants in the recent K-JOI Designer Search. The theme was fantasy.  K-Joi is currently experiancing growing pains. I will post a more accurate link and specific designer names when able.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marie
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 22:45:03

    wonderful lo … your first fantasty style one? terrific job!!!
    ~marie

    Reply

  2. Barb
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 00:04:38

    Very sweet!

    Reply

  3. Jaye
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 00:51:03

    Very Sweet!!

    Reply

  4. Michelle Waite
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 00:56:34

    Adorable layout. Great job.

    Reply

  5. leigh
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 03:15:59

    Your fantasy lo turned out great! I love doing them!

    Reply

  6. Ramona
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 03:36:14

    Wow, Love it. How beautiful.

    And how did you do this?

    Reply

  7. creativelyobsessed
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 07:11:50

    Thanks everyone!

    Romona, It was such fun to make and pretty easy really. The hardest part was the photo extraction and that just takes time and a steady hand. The key was in working with the light sources on the background. What I was trying before just did not work. Then Putting the photo in a better place (for lack of a better description) I kept trying to put DD more in the center of the layout and build a garden around her. When I looked at the picture and saw the depth perception it created with the background, that pretty much cinched it up from there. Then it was just a bunch of layering and shadows. The background already had the trees. I put in the swing and lightened it to fade in with the background. There are a couple of glitter layers and the rest of the elements are obvious

    BTW I have been getting pointers from the very talented ladies at the Guild, and will be tweaking this layout so. Trying to make the shadows more realistic, playing with the wings etc. Probably mid next week

    Reply

  8. debb cozzi
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 10:48:56

    You did a fantastic job!! I’m so thrilled to see how much you are enjoying the magazine. Your enthusiasm is infectious!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

